Sister Nibedita Government General Degree College for Girls

Sister Nibedita Government General Degree College for Girls

Affiliated to University of Calcutta

Department of Physiology

Sister Nibedita Government General Degree College for Girls

Department of Physiology, Sister Nibedita Govt. General Degree College for Girls, under The University of Calcutta was established in June, 2015.It was the first Science department in this college that opened with Honours curriculum. Three-year Bachelor of Science (Honours) course in Physiology and Bachelor of Science General Course started from the academic session 2015 – 2016. Laboratories of this department are well equipped with all necessary equipment and chemicals for conducting practical classes. Theory classes are taken in an interactive fashion as well as through audio-visual demonstration to make it more exciting for the students.

Definition of Physiology:

Physiology is a branch of Biology that deals with the normal functions of living organisms and their parts. Physiology; from Greek words (physis), meaning "nature, origin", and (-logia), meaning "study of", is the scientific study of function in living systems. This includes how within organisms, organ systems, tissues, cells and bio-molecules carry out the chemical or physical functions that exist in a living system. Physiological investigations range from examining the molecular basis of life to understanding the integrative functions of biological systems and their responses to external and internal environments. Physiology enables information gained by molecular biology, cell biology, genetics, pharmacology, biophysics, biomathematics, and biochemistry to be described in an integrated manner that can be applied to human medicine. The study of human physiology dates back to at least 420 BC and the time of Hippocrates, also known as the father of medicine. The highest honour awarded in physiology is the Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine, awarded since 1901 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Head of the Department

Sujoy Dasgupta